The Meaning Behind The Song: Say Amen by Howard Hewett

As a music teacher, I have come across various songs throughout my career that have touched me deeply. One of those songs is “Say Amen” by Howard Hewett. I remember stumbling upon this song at a friend’s house, and from the moment I heard it, I was captivated by its powerful message and beautiful melody.

Table of Contents

“Say Amen” was released in 1986 as part of Hewett’s album titled “I Commit To Love.” It quickly became a surprise hit on both the Gospel and Urban charts, solidifying itself as one of Hewett’s signature songs. The lyrics speak of faith, gratitude, and the unwavering love and grace of God.

The song begins with the acknowledgment that it’s time to say goodbye for now, but there’s a promise of a second time around. This serves as a reminder that there’s always hope and the assurance that we will be reunited with our loved ones. Before bidding farewell, the narrator expresses their desire to say something important.

The lyrics emphasize that everything is not what it seems, as there is a stronger force at work behind the scenes. This force is none other than God, who is present in our lives every day and is always there when we call upon Him. The narrator finds strength in their relationship with God, looking beyond the earthly skies and recognizing that only He can save their life and hear their cry.

Expressions of gratitude towards God are evident throughout the song. The narrator thanks God for giving them one more chance to raise their voice and sing His praise. They sing it out loud and all day, fully embracing the opportunity to celebrate God’s love and grace.

The chorus repeats the sentiment that the song itself is a prayer, dedicated solely to God. While recognizing that their prayer, their song, can never truly compare to the gift from God, which is His love and the sacrifice of His Son, the narrator expresses deep gratitude for these blessings.